lost and found

3

February 10, 2017 by acontraryspirit

Over the last few days I’ve been listening to Part One of the ‘Lost and Found’ episode on The Liturgists Podcast.  This is the episode when Science Mike (Mike McHargue) and Michael Gungor sit down and share their stories with their listeners about when they fell out of love with their faith and with god as they knew him, and how they started to find a new way with their faith and god.

As I listened to this episode I couldn’t help but think about how comforting and refreshing it was to hear these men speak about thoughts and feelings so similar, if not the same as what I have experienced over the last 10 years. I think McHargue put it really well when he said there is just no way that an atheist or someone who did not grow up with a strong sense of faith and belief and relationship with god can understand the grief that follows when you lose that.  In my experience, he is so right about this.

When you are in a church and you are constantly speaking that god language and striving to live your life in a godly way, you are surrounded by people in the same boat, striving for the same thing, using the same language. It doesn’t matter where they work or go to school or what kind of family they have – there is a tie that binds us. But suddenly, when you are past that moment of realizing you didn’t have it all quite right or you didn’t have it right at all, past the moment of for the first time seriously considering there may not be a god, it’s as though you know no one who speaks your language anymore, it’s like the tie breaks and you begin to question if it was really ever there at all.

Your friends and family from church look at you like you have six heads, like you are speaking tongues.  So maybe you do what I did; you stop talking to those friends about these thoughts and ideas, and you make new friends who aren’t so concerned with the god stuff because at this point it is just so exhausting to even think about god and what that means.  I mean, it is emotionally draining particularly when you are on your own, when it’s a one-sided debate to your friends and family who are trying to win you over.

And not talking to these friends and family was okay for me for a long time.  It worked especially well for me because I could easily find a new group of people I thought I had things in common with.  I was starting to understand and explore my sexuality in college and I found a great group of people who were dealing with the same things I was – coming out, meeting people to date, even questions about what the bible had to say about us – everything except questions about god and a personal relationship with that god. Maybe because we were too hurt by most of our past personal relationships at this point.

And some of those friends lasted, but then I met my future wife, and her friends. And we had fun and started our careers and so I had work friends.  I had my groups – I had gay friends, college friends, work friends, married friends…some were all of the above. But none of them shared the language of my religion and I finally got settled enough to realize I missed that.

So I went back, kind of. I went back to the church, just a different branch of the same family. The challenge with that is we still don’t quite speak the same language. First of all, I’m 10 years out of practice. Second of all, I didn’t grow up following the church calendar with Lent and all that so the god language I am out of practice in isn’t even quite the same as the new one I’m trying on.  And it is challenging.  Sometimes a fellow parishioner or even the pastor says something during service, and I cringe because I just can’t get behind that statement or action.  But then I remember that there is some translating I have to do, that I can no longer take what is said at face value, that I’m not fundamentalist, and most of these folks aren’t either.  It’s a major learning curve.

But I’m hopeful that with practice, with more conversations, the translating will take less time and more of the words will be coming from me.  For now, I have work to do.  I take Sundays as a day to rest and to listen at service when I attend.  And then I have to take my time through the week to figure out what this means to me.  What does it mean to me to be going back to church? What are these words to me now – Jesus, God, salvation, the Eucharist? The meaning of these words as they were taught to me cannot remain with what I have learned and seen in life.  The meaning of these words has to be so much bigger than the boxes I had them neatly tucked away in before my questions came flooding in and my language started changing.  Listening to The Liturgists, reading the books and blogs that I have, I’m starting to have hope that the meaning of these words can be and is so much bigger, to fit all of us, maybe even me.

3 thoughts on “lost and found

  1. What a heart-felt post! I’ve experienced many of these things myself and started attending an Episcopal Church in August of last year and really feel a sense of “home” there even though I had never been to an Episcopal Church before in my life. Eucharist was a new word to me (as was the use of real wine). But as I said, it feels like “home” partly because all really are welcome. Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! The church I am attending now is Lutheran – very welcoming but still getting to know everyone so hopefully the trend continues. The wine threw me at first too, I’m used to grape juice in little plastic cups that get passed around the pews. I’m glad you’ve found a new home. Looking forward to checking out some of your graphics too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

stops along the way

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Sep   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Goodreads

Baltimore Art + Justice Project Blog

Discussing the intersection of community art, advocacy and justice in Baltimore.

The Gay Christian

Just another WordPress site

Off the Page

Essays, interviews, and columns promoting spiritual practices for those who love Jesus but not church

Nickel Boy Graphics

Comic Strips (Some Funny, Some Serious)

Angélique's Junction

"There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives." - Audre Lorde

Ask Mormon Girl

Unorthodox answers from an absolutely imperfect source

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

(Not So) Straight from the Seminary

Ramblings, Rants, and Random Thoughts from Two Not-So-Straight Students at a Very-Straight Seminary & Divinity School, Respectively

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

Angela Barnett

Writer. Wig Wearer. Shame Buster.

The Daily Dish

Putting the FUN in funicular.

Bitter Gertrude

Blogging about Theatre and Culture since 2013

redmatyoga

A learning, growing, healing journey through yoga

tiny wisdoms

a small space for big thoughts

yoga and doughnuts

Eating my calories back, one tasty treat at a time

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

